Parents Review Products

Parents reviewing products used by their children

LeapFrog LeapPad2 Explorer vs. Vtech InnoTab 2


Honestly, I feel the InnoTab2 is just what the original LeapPad was, slow. InnoTab2 takes 37 seconds to reach the app home screen. LeapPad2 takes 21 seconds. With LeapPad2 it takes almost 5 seconds from the time you select an app for it to start. It takes InnoTab2 almost 8 seconds. It just feels like there’s a lot of “loading” going on with the InnoTab2. I’m nit picking of course, but it makes a difference to me.
Also, my son just turned 3. When he tries to swipe the screen to the next page he sometimes touches an app, which causes it to load. He then has to wait for it to load before he can go back to the Home screen and try and swipe again. This happened to me a lot, too. If I lay my finger down for just a fraction of a second the InnoTab2 thinks I’m selecting an app instead of swiping. So you have to be careful to swipe in an empty space; my 3 year old isn’t capable of that when the screen is filled with apps. The LeapPad2 just uses arrows to touch at the bottom of the screen.
Overall I feel the InnoTab2 is really not geared for 3 year olds (just like the original LeapPad wasn’t either). The screen isn’t as bright and crisp as the LeapPad2, and the tablet doesn’t feel as solid in my hands.
LeapPad2 is currently $20 more; I’d really suggest getting a LeapPad2 over an InnoTab2, especially if you have a 3 year old: Older kids probably not that big of a deal, just a matter of preference. The included apps seem geared toward older kids anyway, whereas LeapPad2 apps are more 3 year old friendly with their PetPad tracing alphabet game, and the overall designs of the included apps more basic. For example, the art studio in InnoTab2 has like a million color choices, but LeapPad2 just has basic colors to choose from.

 

3 comments on “LeapFrog LeapPad2 Explorer vs. Vtech InnoTab 2

  1. Matt
    November 9, 2012

    I preferred the LeapPad 2 over the Innotab 2. When it comes to toys like this I always buy both and take the one I am least impressed with back. Then of course I will give the better one to my daughter, who is 8. This might seem like a complicated way to buy toys for your kids but in the long run the time it takes is worth the money you save.

    All of the accessories you can buy make great gifts as well.

    • author
      November 9, 2012

      That’s an excellant idea. I have never bought two, these reviews are a collection of parents thats how we have been to get both angles. We swap toys and buy toys as a group in order to see what we like. I love the idea of buying both though.

  2. Rachel's mom
    November 11, 2012

    my daughter loved the innotab 2!!!!!!!!! it is really good for long trips in the car! i wish we would have had something like that when i was a kid lolol

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

